Instagram just introduced a new tool called “Restrict,” which will allow users to secretly hide certain commenters from their account
When that person is restricted, all of their future comments to that account won’t be visible to the public
The troll will still see their comment but they won’t realize it’s invisible to anyone else looking at that page
Here’s how it works:
- A user finds the comment the bully left on their photo.
- They can then swipe left on the comment to “restrict” the person.
- The restricted person won’t be notified that they’ve been hidden, and can continue to post but only they will see it.
- "We've heard from young people in our community that they're reluctant to block, unfollow, or report their bully because it could escalate the situation, especially if they interact with their bully in real life," Instagram says. "We wanted to create a feature that allows people to control their Instagram experience, without notifying someone who may be targeting them."